Wash your Strawberries

Are you properly and thoroughly cleaning your strawberries? Is there something you may be eating without knowing it? I watched THIS and I was pretty grossed out even though I do personally very thoroughly wash my strawberries. You have got to watch the video, it is a video that describes the most common insect found on strawberries. The video also teaches the proper method of cleaning strawberries.

In addition to washing them like this video demonstrates you could also gently wipe each strawberry with a damp cloth or paper towel. This may take a bit more time but it does ensure you remove anymore dirt on the strawberry. I personally use a fruit and veggie wash on all my fruit and veggies to clean them and I try to buy as much fresh organic locally grown produce as I can.

This summer we joined a CSA and we will be getting all our veggies from an organic farm, which I am super excited about, it start May 1st and I can’t wait! Well, hopefully you were already properly cleaning your strawberries and if you weren’t than you were ingesting all those wonderful insects, YAY, For You, Yum, added protein=}

*Camala*

3 Responses to “Wash your Strawberries”

  1. citronetvanille Says:

    That is a great post, I always wash fruits but my BF never, and I will have to show him this.

  2. Duane Whigham Says:

    Hey, I found your blog in a new directory of blogs. I dont know how your blog came up, must have been a typo, anyway cool blog, I bookmarked you. 🙂

  3. Lemon Coconut Strawberry Cupcakes — Best Recipe - CC Recipe CC Recipe Says:

    […] forget to check out our post on how to clean your strawberries!!!! Ingredients 1 cup flour 1/2 tsp baking soda 1 tsp baking powder 1/8  tsp salt 1/4  cup sugar […]


Leave a Reply

